Hockey Australia has signed Memorandum of Understandings (MOUs) with Malaysia, Singapore, India and New Zealand to further drive the growth of hockey in the region.

Hockey Australia has signed various Memorandum of Understandings (MOUs) over the last seven months that will see a united approach to the development of hockey throughout the region.

MOUs have been signed with Hockey India, Hockey New Zealand, Singapore Hockey and the Malaysian Hockey Confederation.

The latest of the MOUs was signed September 23, 2015, with the Malaysian Hockey Confederation (MHC). The five year arrangement, which runs from 1 January 2016 until 31 December 2020, will see collaboration across all areas of the sport, from grassroots development to high performance, including

  • Hookin2Hockey, Hockey Australia’s national grassroots junior development programme, licensed to the Malaysian Hockey Confederation and implemented into its coach education programme
  • Invitations for national teams to compete in competitions and events in both countries
  • Coaching, umpiring, officiating and administrative staff exchanges between the two countries

The agreement between Hockey Australia and Singapore Hockey, which runs until 31 December 2018, is similar in nature, including:

  • Hookin2hockey, Hockey Australia’s national grassroots junior development programm, licensed to the Singapore Hockey Federation and implemented into its coach education program
  • Singapore national teams enter into Hockey Australia’s Australian Championships from 2016-2018

The agreements with Hockey India and Hockey New Zealand are geared towards high-performance and will focus on senior national team competitions.

Hockey Australia Chief Executive Cam Vale believes the arrangements will be of great benefit to hockey in all three countries and will allow Hockey Australia to leverage its world-leading programmes and knowledge to strengthen links in the region.

Visit the following links to find out more about the agreements:

Hockey Australia and Malaysia Hockey Confederation

Hockey Australia and Singapore Hockey

Hockey Australia and Hockey India

Hockey Australia and Hockey New Zealand