Asian Champions Trophy hockey history and winners

The Asian Champions Trophy is a prestigious field hockey tournament held in Asia, showcasing the talent and competitiveness of top Asian hockey nations. Here is a brief history of the Asian Champions Trophy:

1. Inaugural Edition (2011, Ordos, China): The first-ever Asian Champions Trophy took place in Ordos, China. The tournament featured six teams: China, India, Malaysia, Pakistan, South Korea, and Japan. India emerged as the inaugural champions by defeating Pakistan in a thrilling final, claiming the title with a 4-2 victory.

2. Second Edition (2012, Doha, Qatar): The second edition of the Asian Champions Trophy was held in Doha, Qatar. The tournament featured six teams: China, India, Japan, Malaysia, Oman, and Pakistan. Pakistan emerged victorious in a closely contested final against arch-rivals India, winning 5-4 in a penalty shootout to claim the championship.

3. Third Edition (2013, Kakamigahara, Japan): The third edition of the tournament was hosted by Japan in Kakamigahara. The tournament featured the same six teams as the previous edition. Pakistan clinched their second consecutive title by defeating Japan 3-1 in the final.

4. Fourth Edition (2016, Kuantan, Malaysia): After a three-year hiatus, the tournament returned in 2016 in Kuantan, Malaysia. The participating teams included China, India, Japan, Malaysia, Pakistan, and South Korea. India emerged as the champions for the second time, defeating Pakistan 3-2 in a thrilling final match.

5. Fifth Edition (2018, Muscat, Oman): Muscat, Oman, played host to the fifth edition of the Asian Champions Trophy. The tournament featured the six teams including India, Japan, Malaysia, Oman, Pakistan, and South Korea. India and Pakistan were named the joint winners of the tournament.

6. Sixth Edition (2021, Dhaka, Bangladesh): The sixth edition of the Asian Champions Trophy was held in Dhaka, Bangladesh, after a gap of three years. Bangladesh, India, Japan, Pakistan, and South Korea competed for the title. South Korea won the champions for the first time in the tournament history, defeating Japan 4-2 in the shootout.

The Asian Champions Trophy has become a highly anticipated event, attracting top Asian hockey teams and providing a platform for intense competition and rivalry. The tournament has witnessed thrilling matches, historic moments, and fierce battles between the participating nations, further enhancing the legacy and significance of the Asian Champions Trophy in the field of Asian hockey.